The Beatitudes


The Beatitudes (The New Law)

Jesus’ teachings on true happiness are found in the Beatitudes. The Beatitudes are part of the Sermon on the Mount in Matthew’s Gospel. The Beatitudes are sayings and teachings of Jesus that describe true happiness. In each of the Beatitudes, Jesus describes one thing people do that leads to the happiness God wants us to have. It is the happiness of people who give their heart to God. Matthew 5:3-12

Be able to list 2 of the 8 Beatitudes and explain their meaning.

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
The poor in spirit have faith in God and trust his love for them.

Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.
Those who mourn are sad because people suffer. They do what they can to help.

Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the land.
The meek are kind and treat others with respect.

Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be satisfied.
People who hunger and thirst for righteousness treat others fairly and work for justice.

Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.
The merciful forgive others just as God forgives them.

Blessed are the clean of heart, for they will see God.
The clean of heart keep God first in their lives.

Blessed are the peacemakers for they will be called children of God.
Peacemakers solve problems without hurting anyone.

Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven
People who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness do what God wants, even when others laugh at them or threaten to harm them.

Blessed are you when they insult you and persecute you and utter every kind of evil against you because of me. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward will be great in heaven.”
True happiness comes from living as Jesus taught. Jesus told us that this will not always be easy. But it will bring us happiness. It will bring us happiness that will last forever in heaven.